I’m not addicted to my smartphone… really!

Addicted to my smartphone? Me?

I am not addicted to my smartphone, I am not addicted to my smartphone, I am not… oh, for God’s sake, it’s no use. Where the hell did I put my BlackBerry?

Okay. I’ve emptied my handbag, rifled the kitchen drawers and (of course, because that’s what we do when we lose something) blamed everyone else in the house.

And this little personal dilemma got me thinking about the news this week that smartphone ownership – and claimed addiction – is now dominating our lives. Well, the lives of half of all teenagers and a quarter of all adults in the UK anyway.

Apparently, 60% of teenagers under 16 and 37% of adults admit to being “highly addicted” to their devices. In fact, a surprisingly high proportion even confess to using their smartphones in the bathroom or toilet!

And it seems it’s our love affair with social media sites like Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn which is driving this device “addiction” apparently. We simply want to be in touch, it seems, whatever we’re doing.

Well, I can relax now, because I’ve found it! Yay! Thank goodness I’m not addicted to it – how awful would that be?

The full Ofcom  report can be seen

here.

 

About Louise Hudson

Hello World - I am Louise Hudson, mum, wife and Social Media Manager. Following a media sales career in London I found myself settling on the borders of Leicestershire and Lincolnshire and doing all those grown-up things like starting a business and family. My passion is making a difference to businesses by engaging their customers
This entry was posted in communication, facebook, Internet, linked in, news, Social Media, social media manager, social networks, telephone, twitter, you tube and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m not addicted to my smartphone… really!

  1. misterbarryj says:

    That is so true. Just about everyone I know is lost without their phone. B)

Leave a Reply

